bckobayashimaru.de

Bridge Commander Kobayashi Maru Project
It is currently Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:34 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:30 pm 
Offline
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:24 pm
Posts: 8
Every time I start QB or QBR, the game crashes right to the desktop.
I found that AddshipGUI.py or addship.py are the problems, but I can't find the instruction that's causing the bug.
All I got about this is that the error is a missing file that AddShipGUI.py can't reach, but I'm not sure. All the ships work perfect when I run QB without loading AddShips.
Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:34 pm 
Offline
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:35 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Earth
As you're posting this here, i assume that you got KM installed =P
So try to reinstall KM's Script folder and any other mod's you installed script folder again.
If the problem is that AddShip can't find a file, this missing file probably is a script.

_________________
"Revenge is a dish best served cold"
-Old Klingon Proverb

Yes i don't want to write a good signature.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:32 pm 
Offline
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:24 pm
Posts: 8
Do you want me to install again a 5 GB BC????????
and to replace the whole scripts folder which I modded countless times with a stock one? ....
:shock: lol

I can't find the error, but I guess it is a mvam module I added from scratch, and it works different than the stock mvam plugins.
I added a new pointer file, and a new ship plugin to fit the mvam ship, but both the pointer and the plugin point to an existent ship (the defiant, in this case.) I have the stock Defiant, and I added a new DefiantMVAM ship, but it points to the Defiant pointer file (scripts/ships/defiant.py) then, in the super-uber-secret-ship-I-created-and-won't-name-here mvam plugin, I call DefiantMVAM as part of the mvam sequence. Also, the mvam ship appears in qb menus as a blue button (as it is supposed to be), but has no submenus, since the defiantmvam is the stock defiant, and is already defined. Could that be causing a redudance?
PS: both the mvam ship and the DefiantMvam WORK in qb. I CAN use the mvam module.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:31 pm 
Offline
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:35 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Earth
No no, not to install everything again, just the scripts folder, in any case backup what you modded.

Oh i think i know what is the super-uber-secret-ship-you-created-and-won't-name-here lol.

Cut that mvam plugin and paste it in a backup folder, and then test the game. If there's still the error, then the error isn't because of your mvam plugin.

Now, why the mvam defiant isn't working properly i do not know, i never made any mvam ship... I guess that there is something wrong on the pointer or the plugin, or both.

_________________
"Revenge is a dish best served cold"
-Old Klingon Proverb

Yes i don't want to write a good signature.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:26 pm 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:33 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Croatia
Ignore the reinstalling part how about giving more details about the error you mentioned...

_________________
Acta, non verba.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:44 pm 
Offline
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:24 pm
Posts: 8
1- the problem is that I modded many files, and I don't remember which ones :(

2- there was an error, in fact. i was calling the same ship in the mvam module, causing the combined ship to call itself after the mvam sequence, and being able to launch another defiant after the first. Now I declared two ships, shipA and shipB, one as mvam-capable, and the other will appear as hidden, but they can point to the same model, so I reduce lags. the DefiantMVAM is a plugin that points to the stock Defiant, but i call it just from the mvam plugin, so it don't appear in-game, and allows me to not publish a defiant model :) (all this stuff appeared casually, but since it worked, I left it.)

3- about the error: when I enter QB with Foundation and QBA activated the camera looks at Saffi for 1 second, then it crashes to the desktop.
The same thing on QBR. I wait 1-2 seconds and the game crashes.
I could track the problem to AddShipGUI, so I deleted it and now QB loads fine, but I can't use AddShips.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:06 pm 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:33 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Croatia
Again I expected some kind of error report, you said that a console actually printed an error to you. So what did it look like...

_________________
Acta, non verba.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:53 am 
Offline
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:24 pm
Posts: 8
I fixed it, thanks.
It was the nested MVAM module that referred itself when loading the two parts of the ship.
I added a new ShipB, with independent plugins, that points to the same ShipA pointer file, and thus the same hardpoint.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group