bckobayashimaru.de

Bridge Commander Kobayashi Maru Project
It is currently Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:36 pm 
Offline
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:46 pm
Posts: 89
I followed how Defiant added the domramAI to the quickbattle and i have got as far as getting my AI to compile into a .pyc. However, once the battle begins and the AI i am using under scripts.compound is called i get a Crash to desktop. Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing the crash to desktop or can lay out the steps involved in getting the AI up and running?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:48 pm 
Offline
Ensign
Ensign

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 9:33 pm
Posts: 104
i presume that you are using the AI Editor correct?

_________________
Sitting, for hours on end, levelling up whilst putting up with tirades of nonsense/idiots/abuse and avoiding the Killer Bunny Rabbit of Doom that will most certainly kill you if you face up to it. - Ian Dransfield, Prodigious Gaming


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:22 am 
Offline
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:46 pm
Posts: 89
Well for most of the things yes. I have the new ai built by the AI editor... the problem i am having is successfully assigning that AI in place of the default quickbattleAI or quickbattlefrieldlyAI. Basically i want to somehow specify this AI as being the attackmodual for a particular ship(s) (in this case the defiant).

I tried to do this by making a f_nameofmyai.py file that was almost identical to the domramAI. I also added in a referance to this AI file in the custom/scripts/ships/defiant.py file in the exact same way as the domramAI ... however when the game calls the nameofmyAI file in the compound folder... i get a crash. So help with understanding how i connect my new ai to ship(s) in quickbattle would be what i need. (basically, replace fedattack in quickbattle for a ship with something else).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 8:25 am 
Offline
Chief Engineer
Chief Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 10:41 am
Posts: 2449
Location: Hamburg, Germany
ok, first open f_nameofmyai.py and replace your AI with a default AI, like NonFedAttack or so. Then you will see if it your AI causing the problem.

_________________
Shuttle Launching Framework carrier file creator

--
Whenever you find that you are on the side of the majority, it is time to reform.
-- Mark Twain


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:06 pm 
Offline
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year

Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 6:46 pm
Posts: 89
Alright so i changed the file referances to referance the default stuff... ok no problems. Then i set everything back to referance my new ai and... it worked and no crash?? WTF???

Thanks defiant... no idea what BC was up to lol .... :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group